Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout

Standard

In an effort to make the blog both fun and FUNctional (oh God, oldest pun in history), I’ve joined Friend Friday over at ModlyChic. It’s a brilliant idea to bring bloggers together to talk about the community and how to improve it, yeah, I’m pretty excited 🙂

This week’s topic was blog burnout. Now you’re probably thinking blog burnout? You just started like five minutes ago! But the whole point is to learn from each other, and even better when I DO feel burnt out, I can look back at this and stir up a little inspiration. Ready? Here we go…

1. How many hours a week do you spend blogging? Has that number changed since you started blogging?

Since I just started, I spend 1-2 hours a day on my blog, that includes research for posts and connecting with other bloggers through IFB and other sites.

2. There is always more you can do, write, read, comment on… how do you limit your time spent on these tasks?

Since I’m so new, I want to comment and read and write everything! It’s hard to cut myself off to do the “real life” things I have to do (like grad school and working full time, ew). I’m still figuring out how to limit it, but I should probably stop reading blogs in class, that would be a good start 😛

3. Have you experienced Blogger burnout yet? How have you dealt with that?

Not yet, but it is frustrating when I work hard on something and hardly anyone reads it, I could see how that could lead to burn out.

4. This time of the year is always a lot busier than any other time. Will your blogging change as a result?

This is actually the slowest time of year for me, believe it or not! I have a week off at Thanksgiving and two weeks at Christmas, so it’s more downtime than I usually get 🙂

5. Could you foresee a moment in which you are not blogging anymore? How would you you identify that it’s time to walk away?

My mom always says “when it stops being fun, stop doing it”. Everything has tough moments, but when you genuinely don’t like what you’re doing, that’s when it’s time to find something new. If that ever happens with blogging, I’ll know it’s time.

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

