Friend Friday: Authentic Blogging

Standard

1. Most readers and fellow fashion bloggers value authenticity in the blogs they read. How would you describe blog/blogger authenticity?

I think when someone is being genuinely themself it shows through every part of their life, including their writing (and by extension their blog). It’s in the photos too, someone trying to be sexy who’s just naturally goofy and fun, or vice versa, is pretty easy to spot in their outfit posts. I think part of it is staying within your means too. We’ve all heard stories of bloggers maxing out their cards to keep up with outfit a day posts. I refuse to deal with fake people in real life, and nothing turns me off of a blog faster than an inauthentic feel.
2. When it comes to your blog how to you infuse it with that true/authentic feeling?

I try to write the same way I speak and I try to infuse my personal weirdness into my blog. Plus, with my awards show posts, I don’t go crazy over something just because it’s at the top of every ‘best dressed’ list, I’m not afraid to say I just don’t get it! I also thinking posting photos is a way to be authentic. When I do the how-to’s the middle steps are usually NOT the greatest photos of me, but they’re important for understanding the concept.
3. Have you stopped following a blog in the last three months? What made you lose interest?

I hate ‘spam’ blogs, where every post is an advertisement for a sponsor or a reminder to enter a contest. Don’t get me wrong, those can both be very effective kinds of posts, but not when it’s the only thing that goes up. I also tend to stay away from blogs that only post celebrity fashion or ad campaigns, eye candy is great, but I feel like the meat and potatoes of fashion blogs are original content you can’t find anywhere else. If that’s not there, I’m out.
4. We can’t communicate effectively on our blogs, something we don’t live in real life… what are some ways you try to live an authentic life?

There’s this song that says “if you love me than thank you, if you hate me than **** you”, that pretty much describes my life. If you like me, great, if you don’t, that’s fine too, but I’ve never changed my life to fit someone else’s idea of what it should be, and never will.
5. Give a shout-out… Which bloggers do you think are truly genuine and why?

Emily Ann, one of my first blogging friends, everything she posts just radiates her personality and sense of style.

Adored Austin, she’s the nicest lady and gets back to you with a personal email response right away

What Would a Nerd Wear, I swear she shows up in every one of my shout outs! But her mix of Twitter, blogging, and general niceness makes her accessible and authentic

—–

Want to see what other bloggers had to say about authenticity? Check out more responses to the Friend Friday questions at Modly Chic.

3 responses »

  1. I agree with your dislike of spam bloggers. Sponsors and giveaways are great but let’s moderate that with some real content and genuine writing. – Katy

  2. I love this Friend Friday topic. Authenticity in the blogging world is as hard to define as blogging ethics. I love that as a blogger, you are true to the person you are off-line, and I think that comes off really well for most bloggers. However, I think there is a way to be “authentic” when using a voice, not your own. It’s like writing fiction in blog form, and you’ve created a character whom you have to be true to. I think appearing authentic when you’ve done this is really hard, and rarely successful.

Leave a Reply

