Friend Friday: Body Image and Blogging

Standard

1. Since you started blogging has your image of yourself changed?
I don’t think it’s changed so much as become more defined. Having a daily fashion blog means talking about fashion a lot more than I ever have, and in all that talking, I’ve started to develop a better language for describing  my own style.
2. Are you self-conscious about any aspect of yourself? If so, do you go out of your way to avoid it or do you post it/talk about it anyway?
I’ve gained about 20 pounds over the last year and my body has morphed into this entirely different shape that I never thought I’d have. Pretty much everything in my closet doesn’t fit anymore, and the stuff that DOES still fit fits completely differently. For a couple months now it’s felt like every time I try something on, I’m either throwing it out or figuring out a different way to wear it. It sucks, and for awhile it made me super self-conscious until my mom gave me the best advice. Whatever is going on with my fashion sense, I talk about it in the blog, nothing is going to be solved by hiding things. Plus, I feel like it’s important to the community that we keep an open, honest dialogue about the fact that we’re not all perfect.
3. Based on how you are feeling now, what do you think the future holds in the evolution of your body image?
I’ve never been ‘curvy’, but now I’ve got these hips and boobs and an ass that pretty much came out of nowhere. I feel like I’m redefining myself as more of a Marilyn and less of a Twiggy.
4. Do you photograph yourself for your blog? If so, how do you feel about the experience when you’re having your picture taken? If you choose not to post pictures of yourself,

what prompted that decision?
I hate taking the pictures, it’s such a struggle to set up the camera, put on the 10-second timer, run over and try to pose and I feel like all my backgrounds are boring and uninspired. But I love the pictures themselves, the camera shows me things a mirror just can’t, the first time I ever felt ‘curvy’ was in the leopard skirt photo I took for the blog. I’m trying to come up with better ways to snap the photos, but for now I’m doing the best I can.
5. What would you want every person who struggles with body image to take to heart?

I was the stereotypical model size 0-2 for years and in real life, it just scared people more than anything. My boyfriend at the time told me he was afraid to break me, and my freshman roommate would listen outside the door because she thought I was bulimic, and I answered questions about my weight a dozen times a week. In short, it’s not all it’s cracked up to be. Embrace what you’ve got, work on healthy ways to change what you can’t stand, and then move on with life because there’s so much going on outside the mirror.

Want to read more answers? Check out ModlyChic, the home of FBFF!

2 responses »

  1. Va Va Voom in that leopard skirt! I have also gain about the same amount of weight this year. Too much snuggling and wine and cheese. It is interesting to find new ways of wearing the clothes that you already have… I’m trying to think of it as a new way to be creative? I really enjoyed your answers!

Leave a Reply

