The Politics of Pole

Standard

Can I rant for a little minute? No? Well, it’s my blog so I’m going to anyway 😛

You might have heard that this week was host to come out of the pole closet day (Thursday, I think?). Well, I posted, not even a picture of me, but the Bad Kitty pic that’s floating around the community with a quote about feeling strong and sexy when you pole dance. I got so much kick back from friends and family telling me it was inappropriate to post about pole dancing on Facebook.

Sometimes I wish we didn’t have to be “inappropriate”. For example, a few of my friends are swing dancers… like pole dancing it requires training, practice, special attire, and dedication to do it well. They’re as proud of their swing dancing as I am of my pole… but here in lies the difference – it’s socially acceptable for them to be proud, post pictures on Facebook, and talk about what they love in public.

They can invite their relatives to watch their recitals without fear of repercussion. They can send pictures of new moves to their friends without people thinking they’re coming on to them. They don’t have to censor themselves because they’re worried that it might influence their ability to be professionals outside their hobby. And I guarantee no one ever said to to my swing dancing friends “as long as you don’t start doing it for money”.

I was never good at sports as a kid, and I was so jealous of all my friends who had their parents come to all their games. I desperately wanted a soccer mom, and had a great mom who was more than willing to be one, but I sucked at soccer and I hated playing baseball. Now I finally having something physical that I love to do, that I’m good at, that I can show off… except it’s stigmatized.

Somedays I don’t want to be a political statement, I don’t want to have to go into a 15 minutes explanation about why pole dancing is a real sport, I don’t want to defend anything. I just want to be proud without apology, and have a fan club in my corner (with the exception of TGIL who already is :)).

5 responses »

  1. I completely agree – it gets me so frustrated sometimes that so many people perceive pole dance as something it’s not. You hear the whispers, you see the disapproving looks….

    I recently created a separate Facebook page and told my friends on my personal FB page to add me if they wanted to follow my pole progress. But if they were going to be offended by anything, not to. About 100 of my friends have added me to date so I guess quite a few of them really want to see what it’s all about despite how “controversial” it all is.

    Will blog more about this topic soon!
    But you’re definitely not alone 🙂

    x

  2. I am proud of my dance abilities and I talk about it all I want. I see what you mean tho, where family can tend to just assume you have taken up dancing in a Club. I make a point to show my parents pics of me in class on the pole and video of them dancing. The more they know about what it really is, the strength involved, the grace, beauty and dedication the more positive they become. I just recently started teaching and now my parents are really proud of me because they know what it took to get to this point. My mom in law is even coming to my show next month. I love how open minded my family is becoming.

  3. I post my pole pics and am proud of my routines. I work in an official job and my officemates know I love pole dancing. I know it can be intimidating but I find the best way to not get tired of people’s responses is to just be proud of what you do/love/enjoy. After reading this and one of your other posts, I highly recommend you get a copy of Pole Story. It’s a short collection of essays that is an easy read. For the most part, the essays are poignant.

  4. I hear you, that is why i started blogging and made a facebook page for my pole dancing and added my friends and family who are supportive of my hobby. I know what you mean. I just want to post things that i am proud of too!

Leave a Reply

